Administrative division

Dec Fri 2022
Xiangxi Tujia and Miao Autonomous Prefecture is located in Northwestern Hunan Province, at the junction of Hunan, Hubei, Guizhou and Chongqing. The prefecture consists of the city of Jishou and seven counties: Longshan, Yongshun, Baojing, Huayuan, Fenghuang, Luxi, and Guzhang. It has 90 townships, 68 towns and seven sub-districts under its jurisdiction, and administers 1,970 village committees, and 180 community committees. 

Jishou is the capital of Xiangxi Tujia and Miao Autonomous Prefecture, Hunan Province. It covers an area of 1,078.33 square kilometers. It has four sub-districts, five towns and a township under its jurisdiction.

Luxi County
Luxi County is located in the southeast of Xiangxi Tujia and Miao Autonomous Prefecture, with a total area of 1,565 square kilometers.
The county has 45 kinds of minerals, and its proven reserves of bauxite, phosphorus and stone coal rank first in Hunan Province. It abounds in agricultural products such as ponkan, camellia oil, ginger, and rapeseed. The planting area of ponkan has reached 20,000 hectares with a total output of 180,000 tons. Luxi is known as the hometown of ponkan in China.
Fenghuang County
Fenghuang County is located on the western margin of Hunan Province and covers 1,759.1 square kilometers. It boasts a national historical and cultural town, which is a national 4A scenic area. Fenghuang is one of the first tourism-themed counties in China.
Huayuan County
Huayuan County is located on the western margin of Hunan Province and the middle section of the Wuling Mountains. At the junction of Hunan, Guizhou and Chongqing, it is known as the gateway to the southwest of Hunan Province, with a total area of 1109.35 square kilometers.
Its proven reserves of manganese mine rank first in Hunan Province and second in China, and those of lead-zinc mine rank second in Hunan and third in China.
Baojing County
Baojing County, located in the northwest of Xiangxi, has a total area of 1,760.65 square kilometers. The Youshui River in the county is the mother river of the prefecture, with promising prospects for tourism development. It has more than 60 scenic spots from the county to the Liye River section, including the remains of Sifang City of the Han Dynasty (206 BC - 220 AD), the Red Stone Forest National Geopark, Weijiazhai Ancient Town of Western Han Dynasty (206BC - 24AD), and the Liye Qin Slips Museum.
Guzhang County
Guzhang County is located in the west of Hunan Province and the middle of Xiangxi, and it covers a total area of 1,286 square kilometers. The county boasts an excellent environment and its greening rate is 80.46 percent. It is not only famous for forestry and tea, but enjoys a good reputation for weightlifting, singing and dancing.
Yongshun County
Yongshun County is located in the northwest of Hunan Province and the northeast of Xiangxi, covering a total area of 3,810.63 square kilometers.
The county is the birthplace of the Tujia ethnic group and the location of Laosicheng, the former site of Tusi governance. Here also lies Furong Ancient Town, which features beautiful scenery and distinctive ethnic customs.
Longshan County

Longshan County is located on the western margin of Hunan Province and is in the hinterland of Wuling Mountains. The county is adjacent to the borders of Chongqing and Hubei, covering an area of 3,131 square kilometers. It has a number of natural attractions, such as Wulong Mountain Grand Canyon, Luota Stone Forest, and Taiping Mountain Forest Park.
Copyright © 2022 Xiangxi Tujia and Miao Autonomous Prefecture, Hunan Province.
All rights reserved.

湘公网安备 43010402001229号